Lady Anne Addison Mysteries



About the Lady Anne Addison Mystery Series:

LADY ANNE ADDISON, plain and feisty Georgian-era spinster, is nobody’s fool. So when a newly-married friend writes to her that there is a werewolf loose near her new home in Yorkshire, and it threatens to tear them all apart, she is skeptical. Logic dictates that tales of the supernatural are told to fool the frightened and frighten the foolish. As she is neither frightened nor foolish, she will look for rational explanations. But is everything so easily explained as all that?

Her natural good sense tells her that the mysterious Marquess of Darkefell (her friend’s new brother-in-law) – as alluring and attractive as she finds him – is hiding something. Whether it is something sinister or merely secret, she isn’t sure. But she intends to find out.

Follow the indomitable Lady Anne as she travels England hunting werewolves, ghostbusting and exposing gypsy curses, all accompanied by her intelligent maid, Mary, Mary’s son, Wee Robbie, and her enormous and determined cat, Irusan.

If you are looking for a historical mystery with romance, suspense, and a suggestion of paranormal,
then read Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark.
Fallen Angel Reviews
[Hamilton] excels at imbuing her realistic characters with subtle depths...
American Library Assoication
[The author] has set up a well-drawn Gothic horror setting here, so the atmosphere is fantastic,
what with it being chilling, mysterious, and menacing all at once.
Mrs. Giggles

Fans of the Lady Julia Grey Mysteries will love these Georgian historical mysteries!

The Lady Anne and the
Howl in the Dark
Lady Anne Addison Mystery #1

    After receiving a distressing letter from a friend, Lady Anne Addison wastes no time in traveling to Yorkshire to offer whatever help she can. She has no idea what she’ll find there, but she certainly wasn’t expecting to be met by tales of a werewolf terrorizing the area—nor the dead body she discovers upon arriving. Driven by curiosity and a keen intelligence, Lady Anne dismisses the notion of such a beast, but she’s nonetheless drawn into the mysteries by the secrecy surrounding her friend and the infuriating yet enticing Lord Darkefell.

    With a murderer on the loose and the supposed werewolf ravaging livestock and terrifying the locals, Lady Anne puts her reservations aside and joins forces with the seductive Darkefell to get to the bottom of things. And though his nearness is a tempting distraction, Lady Anne manages to uncover one clue after another, unraveling the mysteries and drawing ever closer to the killer, even while her true feelings for the enigmatic marquess elude her . . .

    Originally published under the name Donna Lea Simpson.

Click on the logos below to buy this book and other books by Victoria Hamilton.


Beyond The Page Publishing
April 2019 

Revenge of the
Barbary Ghost
Lady Anne Addison Mystery #2

   Fleeing the attentions of the handsome and commanding Marquess of Darkefell, Lady Anne Addison arrives on the doorstep of a dear friend seeking nothing but rest and relaxation, but soon finds herself putting her investigative talents to work after a sighting of the Barbary Ghost. Always a skeptic of the supernatural, Lady Anne immediately suspects the apparition is nothing more than a diversionary tactic to conceal smugglers on the beach below her friend’s house.

    When the beguiling marquess follows her to Cornwall, Anne is distracted from her ghost hunt by his alluring kisses, until murder gets her attention. Forced once again to work with the marquess to uncover the truth behind a mystery, she soon discovers that her passionate attraction to him has not abated. Should she run from him again, or give in to temptation?

Originally published under the name Donna Lea Simpson.

Click on the logos below to buy this book and other books by Victoria Hamilton


Beyond The Page Publishing
April 2019 

Curse of the Gypsy
Lady Anne Addison Mystery #3

    Finally home in Kent after her recent adventures in Yorkshire and Cornwall, Lady Anne Addison is shocked to spy her erstwhile suitor, the Marquess of Darkefell, skulking around the gypsy camps near her property. Outraged that he has followed her there, she writes a scathing letter to him and his family, which brings Darkefell— and his denials that it was he— to Kent.

    Despite Darkefell’s arrival, Anne is preoccupied with the troubles that plague her family and loved ones. Is it the old gypsy woman’s curse that is making her friends ill, or something far more sinister? One by one, Anne and Darkefell must unravel the troubling mysteries, and then travel back to Yorkshire, where their love story began, to finally solve the murder that threatens the very heart of his family . . .

Originally published under the name Donna Lea Simpson.

Click on the logos below to buy this book and other books by Victoria Hamilton


Beyond The Page Publishing
April 2019 

Follow Victoria on...

  Victoria also writes two blogs:
Victoria Hamilton's - Vintage Kitchen Mysteries Blog
  Victoria Hamilton's - Killer Characters Blog (the 21st of each month)

Donna Lea Simpson's - Wordpress Blog
Donna Lea Simpson's Website

Back to Top

Copyright © 2011 - 2019 Victoria Hamilton Mysteries | All Rights Reserved | Updated: April 30, 2019.